Login Digi

Login Publishing

New release | Khruangbin


Houston-based group Khruangbin are back with their 3rd LP Mordechai now out on Dead Oceans in association with Night Time Stories. Publishing by Warp Publishing, sub-published by Gaga Music for Aus/NZ.


Comprised of bassist Laura Lee Ochoa, guitarist Mark Speer and drummer Donald “DJ” Johnson, it's the band's second record this year following up from their collaborative EP Texas Sun with Leon Bridges, a 4 track soulful road trip through the Texan deserts.

Mordechai marks a slight departure from their mostly instrumental debut The Universe Smiles Upon You, a gentle journey of an album filled with drifting guitar chords, light bass and faint drums, and its follow up breakthrough and beloved record Con Todo El Mundo from 2018, in which you could already hear vocals and spoken words laid down on a broader range of musical references, adding Caribbean, Indian, and Middle Eastern touches to the first record nod to Thai funk.

A string of singles and videos were released in the past couple of months, from the shimmering 'Time (You & I)' to simultaneously heartbreaking and warm 'So We Won't Forget' and the Spanish sung third single 'Pelota' and its beautifully animated cosmic video, showcasing the band's mastery in crafting body of works incorporating elements of disco, funk and surf music with multilingual lyrics.

This record is a celebration of each band member's ever-restless ears and musical references as much as an ode to the eclectic and diverse culture of their home city of Houston, an album at times slow and poignant but celebratory nonetheless.


"Mordechai is a great record, made by deep listeners who believe that discerning taste does not equate to snobbishness"
— 9/10, Uncut Magazine

"Intensely relaxing, wonderfully addictive, and ultra-mellow, ‘Mordechai’ is this summer’s sunset record."
— 8/10, Clash Music

"Newfound candour from psychedelic music’s low-key superstars."
— 5*, NME

More from Warp Publishing Secretly Canadian

Video: Mount Kimbie

Video: Mount Kimbie

Blue Train Lines ft. King Krule from new album Love What Survives out September.

Welcome | Slowdive

Welcome | Slowdive

We are happy to welcome Slowdive to the extended family via Warp Publishing in the UK. 

Tour: Kevin Morby

Tour: Kevin Morby

Just announced, Kevin Morby & Waxahatchee will tour together during the final months of 2018. 


More Releases